Dear new colleagues!

I joined INL earlier this month as a staff researcher and head of the group “Ultrafast Bio- and Nanophotonics”.

My name is Jana Nieder. I grew up in Malente, which is a small town between two lakes close to the Baltic sea in the northern part of Germany. After moving to Berlin for my physics studies, during which I spent one year studying in Paris, I moved to Barcelona and then to Lisbon for postdoctoral research. Now, I am happy to get to know the north of Portugal and having the opportunity to build up a lab in the photonics area.

I already met quite some of you, and herewith would like to say “thank you” especially to the INL administration, but also to the INL researchers for a very constructive and welcoming start. So far, it was mainly me asking questions like: How do you do this or that at INL? Now, I’m looking forward to being asked, do you think photonics tools can help in my field of research? Let’s evaluate that together! You can find me in the last office on the first floor (no. 19) or in the lab just across.

As you can suggest from my obvious happiness on this picture, I like the sea! Besides cycling along the coast, I enjoy watersports, like swimming, windsurfing and sailing. Recently, I tried out surf and I am motivated to continue experimenting this fascinating sport. Recommendations welcome!

As you can guess from my obvious happiness on this picture, I like the sea! Besides cycling along the coast, I enjoy watersports, like swimming, windsurfing and sailing. Recently, I tried out surf and I am motivated to continue experimenting this fascinating sport. Recommendations welcome!

See you around, Jana

Leave a Reply

